Monday, December 29, 2008

2009 Elections in Lackawanna County

In 2009, Elections will be held for the following offices:

Lackawanna County District Attorney currently held by Republican Andy Jarbola.

Lackawanna County Sheriff currently held by Democrat John Szymanski.

Lackawanna County Recorder of Deeds currently held by Democrat Evie Rafalko McNulty.

Lackawanna County Register of Wills currently held by Democrat Linda Munley.

There will be a judgeship available. This is an open seat. According to the Scranton Times, Republican Frank Castellano and Republican Brian Cali are considering the position.

In the cities, boroughs, and towns, all of the mayors with the exception of Carbondale will be on the ballot. Many of the tax collectors, council members, supervisors, auditors, school directors, judges of election, and inspectors are to be elected.

Republican Judge Michael Barrasse and Democrat Judge Terry Nealon will be on the ballot for retention.

The District Judges (Magistrates) in part of Scranton (Hailstone), Dunmore, and Carbondale will also be up for election in 2009.

If interested in running for any of the above listed positions, please contact us! Contact information can be found in the volunteer section of the page.

Important Dates for 2009 Primary Election!

First day to circulate and file nomination petitions is February 17.

Last day to circulate and file nomination petitions is March 10.

Last day to withdrawal by candidates who filed nomination petitions is March 25.

Last day to register to vote before the 2009 Primary is April 20th.

Primary Election day is May 19th.